top of page

Windy Wellington and the "Hostel Situation"

Let me just start by saying how much I LOVED WELLINGTON its such an awesome city and being the capital of New Zealand there is so much to see and do. The Museum I spent about four hours in, the art gallery another two, and even attended a Theatre performance at the Circa Theatre (yes alone.. people do that… or creepy cat lady people do I’m just preparing myself for the futurehere).

For the less intellectually stimulated the city has so many awesome shops, bars, and cafes on my now favorite street Cuba Street, along with Awesome Graffiti which the city seems to support as art( which I find so interesting and awesome at the same time after all it is an art and a difficult one in my opinion.. I’m not creative enough to do some of the work I saw there.. I’d just run around spray painting horrible cat pictures on random walls so kudos and hats off to those of you with spray paint cans!

For the nature lovers Wellington also had some awesome trails and tracks to hike along. It was also cool to get to go on a hike with Bill( hitchhiking friend Bill) .. a hike that lasted about all day and was eight miles( we were convinced that a beer a mile would be a sufficient amount for an after celebration). After the beautiful scenery and strenuous hike we went to a cowboy bar then proceeded to celebrate further for our successes on the hike.

Now in all of these wonderful things to do and see I’ve not yet mentioned where I had been staying while in Wellington… which is where the really good story begins.

Now ive done my fair share of hostel living and have seen my fair share of what goes on in them, but I can honestly say that the hippie stoner who resided in my room (along with 2 other roommates as well) takes the cake.

After trying to convince me to “party” with him and the others who pretty much all lived long term in this cliquey hostel ( which I of course declined) he brought home with him a lady friend to let’s say umm hangout with.. While we were all in there mind you (this room didn’t even have enough space to fit two people standing at one time).. And lucky me got to be on the top bunk of the squeaky bed that he and his pal were hanging out on -_-, I wouldn’t have minded so much if it weren’t for the fact that it was 6AM and the sun was shining through my window and the noise was not discreet for lack of a better term.

These going on’s proceeded to occur the rest of my stay at the hostel.. Each night.. With a different girl… I actually have to give props to dirty stoner hippie man.. He could get a girl to come back with him clearly. The best part was when he still tried to get me to “party with them” every night.. he also added me on Facebook and has his name as an alias to avoid .. god knows what… but kudos and fair well dirty hippie man you made quite the lasting impression.

My second to last night there I got free tickets to see a professional New Zealand basketball game.. It was the worst game of basketball id ever seen but loved it( after a few beers) and chalked it up to an awesome( and free) experience.

Wellington with its bright lights, awesome museums, and wonderful Cuba street will for sure be missed.

SEARCH BY TAGS:
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page