top of page

North to South Island and Peaceful Picton

The interIsland Ferry boat from Wellington to Picton was absolutely AMAZING the best views ever!! I know a lot of people recommend flying from either North to South Island or vice versa, but I would highly recommend paying the $50 for a ticket to travel along the Cook Strait .

I had never been on a ferry boat until this experience (and I’m sure no other ferry boat ride will ever compare) but it was so awesome. I took the 9AM boat and arrived in Picton a little after noon. The views were beyond indescribable and my pictures do not due proper justice. Breathtaking!! Along the ride I made a little Kiwi friend who shortly became obsessed with me and began asking me questions about New York. She had her father take a picture of us with my camera…. I think the dad was a little confused why this random girl was taking photographs with his six- year-old- daughter but once she said “ dad she’s from New York its cool, take the picture” I think his fears of me being a pedophile were momentarily put to rest.

In Picton there really isn’t much to do, but the views were enough in itself! I met some Canadians who got off the boat and asked me where I was staying (I had done my research and found a hostel with free breakfast) as soon as I said free breakfast they tagged along and went with me.

They also invited themselves to go with me on the only walking trail Picton had (that could be done in a day)… not kidding they really do say “AYE” a lot… I used to think it was a stereotypical joke... until I spent a day with two dudes asking questions, making statements, and just generally talking; but never the less all followed up with an “AYE” at the end.

Nothing exciting happened, but I finally got some rest at the amazing hostel I stayed in! They gave out fresh baked brownies with ice cream EVERY NIGHT… EVERY NIGHT. Needless to say ice cream or even dessert in general for free couldn’t make this girl any happier!

If ever in Picton the Sequoia Lodge is the place to be at people seriously. Free Wi-Fi, a roaring fire, hot tub, free dessert, AND Free breakfast; I already told myself I need to go back there just to sleep for a night( I felt like I was at my grandmas when I was sitting on the couch by the fire; connected to social media, while simultaneously eating ice cream chocolately brownie amazingness!

I was in HEAVEN!

SEARCH BY TAGS:
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page