top of page

Hostel-Less,Doors Banging, Bags Swinging Christchurch

I took the Naked Bus again (thank the gods above, no angry bus driver onboard this trip) from Picton to Christchurch. The Ride was awesome we passed through Kaikoura (well known for their sea animals and whale watching) and got to see beautiful views of mountains and the ocean.

After arriving in Christchurch I didn’t think my plans through thoroughly enough to plan a place to stay.. needless to say the hostel I “Planned” on staying in closed reception at six PM( who does that really? .. but anyway) I was hostel-less, Looked and for sure smelled homeless, and was carrying over 75 pounds of dirty laundry on my back without anywhere to stay for the night. I thought to myself “well Reed you really screwed up here”. After wandering around (with sweat running down my entire body) for about 20 minutes I finally came across a backpackers hostel( in the middle of nowhere) and found a place to stay for the night.

After finally getting my senses together I find a grocery store, go back to the hostel, catch up on the season premiere of Game of Thrones ( WHICH WAS AMAZING I WANT MORE I WANT MORE), meet two nice girls in my room who were from LA , chatted with them,and went to bed…..

But my night did not end there.. because well im Sara Reed and why would it.

There was a fourth roommate in our room who didn’t arrive back until around 1 AM, which is fine; like dude come in get yourself together and get to bed( also I can’t even begin to tell you what she was doing out that late anyway because Christchurch is not what we would call a “big night out” kind of city). But anywho, this chick comes in banging doors, swinging bags, and running in and out of the room into the bathroom for a solid TWO HOURS.

Ooo Yeah and I just so happened to have the top bunk of the squeaky bed she slept under. Which made SO much noise when she felt the need to do some kind of lotion ritual for about a half hour which consisted of thoroughly and I mean THROUGHLY rubbing a nasty smelling lotion onto her entire body.

Around three just when I think the madness is going to end I hear this girl do the most outrageous nasal clearing sound of my life !!! Naturally I burst out laughing I roll over and die laughing while trying to hide it by coughing( laughing hysterically into my pillow). The girls in the bunk next to me laugh and roll over too. The night didn’t end there folks….

Around 3:30 I roll over at the exact moment our little friend decided to come back into the room once again and stare right into the face of a little Asian with a white facial clearing mask on.. I screamed and I mean I screamed loud ( im laughing to myself so hard just writing this). She scared the bejesus out of me and then proceeded to say "sorry, sorry, sorry" and scrambled back into bed… ABSURD I just started laughing again after my body got over the initial shock.

The next morning our little friend approaches me before I leave the hostel telling me shes sorry for waking me up. Nice Sara would have said “ its all good”. I was not in a nice Sara mood though.. I was so curious as to what the heck this girl was doing all night and replied with a … "What the heck were you doing"( Im never going to see this girl again I thought to myself, so I didnt care what she thought of me)… "do you live here or something?" She look embarrassed and told me she just arrived the day before and was leaving today… WHO DOES THAT IN A HOSTEL that’s what you do in some high end fancy hotel or like where you live.. come on lady.. come on…

Aside from that Chirstchurch is still extremely devestated from the Earthquake that hit in 2011. There is really not much going on aside from constuction which is really sad. They do have an awesome memorial museum and botanical gardens that are a must see!! even if you are there just stopping over while in transit to go to another place ( Chirstchurch is still a huge hube for transportation while on the South Island). Not the most thrilling place but one worth seeing for a day or even half a day if you get the chance

... hey you might even run into some hostel mates who could provide your abs with an extreme laugh workout if you decide to go!!


SEARCH BY TAGS:
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page