top of page

Milford Sound and the Stolen Gas

IMG_0448.JPG
IMG_0470.JPG

Now did anyone really think that if I was given a car to man by myself in a foreign country the story would have just ended with “ The scenes were beautiful, it was awesome, and it all went without a hitch?" If you did you haven’t been reading my blog, or you have no idea how my life actually works!

Well to begin with after about two hours of driving it started to get dark and I was only using New Zealand’s road signs to get to Milford Sound (If I can get around without map questing … there is hope out there for you all as well). Which was a bad idea in general looking back, but I was on cloud nine driving in the car so I didn’t think that at the time. I stop driving in Te Anau (about two hours away from Milford Sound).Now me being my cheap self thinks “well I have a car that im paying for why not park it and sleep in it.”

Yeah Sara, why not park a car on the freezing cold part of the South Island, the very first night on their winter solstice( known as the longest night and possibly the coldest night of winter) Good idea. NO.

WORST IDEA EVER!! I only had a top sheet to use as a blanket, my slightly damp shower towel, two sweatshirts, my jacket, and about three scarves to keep me warm. I am not kidding when I tell you I have never been so cold in my ENTIRE LIFE. Seriously I woke up with frost covered inside and outside my car. Waking up at 6AM from sheer coldness I start the car and head off to Milford Sound, thinking how I will never sleep in a car in the beginning of winter in New Zealand ever again!

The drive to Milford Sound was something I can not even begin to describe. It made me forget all about my horrible sleep and coldness from the night before and gave me once again a sense of just beautiful peace.

Once in Milford Sound there is so much beauty to see just in the drive. I stopped once again every third mile and took in the Sounds beauty ( and it was beautiful I don’t think I’ll ever see such an amazing place again in my life).

So naturally my mind didn’t conclude that I should have gotten gas before entering the Sound.. thinking to myself well there should be a gas station there and I can just fill up a little bit and get more on the way home.....

There was a gas station… a sketchy gas station. But I desperately needed gas and it was my only option. So I fill up about 30$ worth of gas and go to make sure my receipt prints and then I can head off. but the receipt didn’t print.. and the pump stopped going so I assumed it had shut off…… NEVER ASSUME

I leave Milford Sound back on cloud nine from all of the beauty I had taken in, and stop in Te Anau again to check in with my mom and look over my bank statements ( I have serious issues and financial things always go wrong so im constantly checking my online banking)

Thank god I have OCD and do it often, because come to find someone in Milford Sound at the sketchy gas station, was able to pump about 75$ into their car using my debit card, between the time I had left and the two hours it took me to get to Te Anau.

I literally freaked out. Called my mom in my dramamtic freak out state claming my life was over and I was going to die and blahh blahh. After 20 minutes she calmed me down, we got a hold of my bank and took care of it. ( if anyone has seen one of my Sara Reed classic freakouts you know how bad you feel right now for my poor mom having to deal with me and the poor man who happened to answer the phone at the bank that morning).

Not knowing what to do and having less than enough gas to get back to Queenstown, I take the cash I had in my pocket and head back planning to suffer another night in the freezing car( mad about the whole gas situation and being to stubborn to pay for a hostel I brace the cold once more). This time I wore my sneakers to bed and used my backpack to place on top of me for warmth.... ( im aware I have issues people we all know this by now).

Just when I was at my wits end with the car, it was finally time to return it. Im thinking okay nothing can be worse so lets just get this thing back and it will be fine.

I go to a gas station to fill up the tank( mandatory or they charge you more to fill it up themselves). The car's tank not taking anymore gas I get into the car and head to drop it off. But seeing as the tank wouldn’t take anymore gas, it was strange that the cars gas tank read only ¾ full. I thought to myself you have to be kidding me this cant be my life.

So only an hour left until I have to drop the car off ( and not wanting to pay anymore for gas into that god forsaken thing) I head to another gas station where the tank only took 1$.

Like really your gonna read 3/4 full but in reality be full UGHH. At that point I didn’t care what happened I just wanted the car to be taken off my hands.

I told Jucy about the dilemma and they were super helpful and informed me that sometimes happens ( really does it happen that often or just to people like me?)

A few things I’ve leaned from this.. Jucy Rentals was awesome. I have horrible luck. And I hope the person who got about 75$ worth of gas was having a worse day than me.


SEARCH BY TAGS:
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page